Remember your first? A #bookgiveaway

First crush.
First puppy.
First kiss.
First novel.

leslie budewitz agatha award winner 2013

Okay, so maybe they don’t all stand out in the same way, but the fun of discovery never gets old. To celebrate the Agatha Award for Best First Novel, which will be awarded next week at the Malice Domestic Mystery Convention—and the anniversary of my win last year, for Death al Dente—I’m giving away copies of three of this year’s nominated books:

IMGP2797Tagged for Death, by Sherry Harris,
Well Read, Then Dead, by Terrie Farley Moran, and Murder Strikes a Pose, by Tracy Weber (signed copy).
(The other nominees are Circle of Influence, by Annette Dashofy and Finding Sky, by Susan O’Brien, but I’m still reading!)

And as a bonus, I’m adding Kilmoon by Lisa Alber, a nominee for the Rosebud Best First award at this year’s Left Coast Crime, held in Portland, the Rose City, and the fun convention bookbag.

To enter, leave a comment on my blog or my Facebook Author page mentioning some memorable first—your first love, your first house, the first mystery you read, a favorite first novel, any “first” that still gives you a smile—by midnight Wednesday, April 29. Ruff—the first Burmese cat I ever met—will punch the random number generator on Thursday morning, April 30.

(U.S. addresses only)

Malicious good fun — and a new teapot!


Delighted to share the news that last weekend, Death al Dente won the Agatha Award for Best First Novel! The awards are given at the annual Malice Domestic Mystery Convention, celebrating the traditional mystery. Photographic evidence will now be admitted for your consideration.

Malice 2014 Best First


The Best First Novel nominees before our panel discussion, moderated by the marvelous novelist Margaret Maron. Front: me and Kendel Lynn. Back: LynDee Walker, Liz Mugavero, and Shelley Costa.

Malice 2014 Faith, LAB, teapot

Me with my editor Faith Black and that lovely little teapot!

Malice 2014 banquet


The program for the banquet and awards ceremony.


This was the 26th annual Malice Domestic Convention. The Best First Novel award has been given since the beginning; Best Nonfiction was added in the early 1990s. The Awards Committee believes that three other authors have been nominated for both Best Nonfiction and a fiction award, but that I am only the author to win both Best Nonfiction and a fiction award, in any category. No wonder I’m still smiling!

I also had the delight of moderating a panel discussion on legal mysteries, featuring Margaret Maron, Cathy Pickens, Martin Edwards, and Steve Steinbock. I’ll post those pictures when I get them.

Thanks for celebrating with me!